Back to the Future with Windows 7

October 23, 2009 at 3:20 pm | Posted in waffle | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I’ve just installed Windows 7 on my MacBook using its BootCamp dual-boot capability. Sad, I know, but I’d like to compare OS X and Microsoft’s latest offering for myself. There are also still a few Windows programs that I’d like to run – the Xara illustration program, for example.

Anyhow, the installation went quickly and smoothly until I came to the part where I inserted the Snow Leopard disk and tried to install the Apple drivers (for the keyboard, touchpad etc.). I’d installed the 64-bit version of Windows 7, and an alert came up saying ‘BootCamp x64 is unsupported on this model’. Some Googling revealed a simple fix, which was unfortunately thwarted by Windows permissions. Luckily a further search revealed a work around which required… the Command window and typing some DOS commands.

Oh, the irony. The two latest, shineyest operating systems require good old DOS* to get them working together. It took me right back to the days I spent installing programs on Windows 3.1 – but at least I didn’t have a big pile of floppy disks to feed in and out.

* yes, I know its cmd.exe, but if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

